The mission of the Heinrich Schütz House includes carrying out scholarly research on Heinrich Schütz’s life and work and on the rich musical history of Weissenfels. This is presented and explained in exhibitions, events and publications tailored to visitors’ needs. Further focal points are music at the princely court of Weissenfels and the musical practices of the Weissenfels townspeople, especially in the town church, St Mary’s.

The Heinrich Schütz House belongs to the working group on regional musical culture within the Saxony-Anhalt heritage organisation “Landesheimatbund Sachsen-Anhalt”. The working group researches the musical history of Saxony-Anhalt.

Selected publications (in German)


For an appointment to visit the archives, contact:

Henrike Rucker
Tel. +49 (0) 3443 337062

To search the RISM online:

Schütziana collection, Weissenfels Museum

Between 1929 and 1935, the Weissenfels town museum acquired valuable early prints of Schütz’s work, a total of 28 part-books from five works: Auferstehungshistorie (1623), Cantiones sacrae (1625), Kleine geistliche Konzerte, other part (1639), Geistliche Chormusik (1648) and Symphoniae sacrae, parts II and III (1647 and 1650). The collection also includes the printed funeral sermons for Heinrich Schütz (1672) and his brother Benjamin Schütz (1666), the Dresdner Hofgesangbuch (1694), and the libretto of Dafne in Martin Opitz’s Opera poetica (1646). Two part-books of the Eisenach cantor Theodor Schuchardt (c. 1660) contain individual handwritten parts for “Esaia, dem Propheten, das geschach (Deutsches Sanctus)” and “Unser Herr Jesus Christus, in der Nacht, da er verraten ward”, and Secunda Pars: “Desselbigen gleichen nahm er auch den Kelch“ (Words of Institution) by Heinrich Schütz.
Almost all these objects are now in the permanent exhibition of the Heinrich Schütz House. 

Music collection of the former Ephoralbibliothek Weissenfels 

The Heinrich Schütz House’s archives hold the music collection of the former Ephoralbibliothek Weissenfels (the repository of the town’s Lutheran congregation). The collection contains 351 eighteenth- and nineteenth-century manuscript scores, including valuable autograph manuscripts by renowned composers, numerous copies, and unattributed works. The holdings are catalogued in the International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) under the siglum WFe, and can be searched online. 
The collection is open, by prior appointment, for researchers to consult in our archives.
In 2010, 2012 and 2015, the Weissenfels Music Association “Heinrich Schütz” organised concerts with performances of works by Johann Gottlieb Graun, Johann Adam Hiller, Georg Anton Benda, Johann Ernst Bach, Johann Friedrich Doles, Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf, Francesco Gasparini, Carl Hartwig, Johann Gottlieb Naumann and the Weissenfels cantor Johann August Gärtner (1762–1823), the source of an important part of the collection. Michael Schönheit directed the soloists, the Collegium Vocale Leipzig and the Merseburger Hofmusik. The works were arranged by Maik Richter. The concerts were sponsored by the Baroque music association “Mitteldeutsche Barockmusik e.V.” and broadcast by MDR Figaro.